Your Trusted Contacts
MyWishes enables users to assign ‘Trusted Contacts’. If someone accepts a user’s request to become a Trusted Contact they agree to carry out an administrative task following the user’s death. Those entrusted to be a Trusted Contact are informed via an email sent by the user from the MyWishes platform. Assigning a Trusted Contact takes place within the the ‘Goodbye Messages’
section. Trusted Contacts are unable to view, edit or delete any Goodbye or Scheduled messages created by the person who assigned them as their Trusted Contact.
Confirmed Trusted Contacts who agree to administrate messages on the user’s behalf following their death. The Trusted Contact is under no legal obligation to administer the message and activate the message send process. Those assigned as Trusted Contacts have the ability and final decision as to whether or not goodbye messages and scheduled messages created are published.
- A Trusted Contact should not be confused with assigning someone as an ‘executor’ within a last will and testament.
- A Trusted Contact should not be confused with assigning someone with the ‘power of attorney’. A Power of attorney may be granted for someone’s estate for making decisions about their mental wellbeing should they lose capacity to do so. (This is sometimes referred to as a healthcare proxy).
MyWishes will not administrate the message send process if one or more Trusted Contacts fail to do so. It is therefore very important that those assigned as Trusted Contact(s) understand what is being asked of them. It is also important that a second or third Trusted Contact is assigned should the first Trusted Contact fail to undertake the task due to illness, death or any other reason.
Once you have created a Goodbye Message you will be able to view the status of Trusted Contact assigned to your message(s) in the My Profile
section. Once assigned the status will display ‘Pending’ by default.
MyWishes will not grant permission to the Trusted Contact to administer your account until they confirm that they have accepted the email request sent to them.
Only once an assigned Trusted Contact agrees to be an executor will their status box change from the colour red to green. Once changed the text will also change from ‘Pending’ to ‘Confirmed’.